Under the Sea with Deakin University
“Deep dive into knowledge” – Time to get on board the research vessel “YOLLA” and discover the latest and greatest science and research from the Deakin University Marine Science faculty. Get ready to take a breath and dive below the surface to explore and understand the colourful world of the Twelve Apostles Marine National Park.
Carving the 12 Apostles
A work in progress - with the erosive forces of wind, rain, wave and artesian water at play it only takes 800 - 1400 years to shape and reclaim these monuments of the sea
Naming the 12 Apostles
From Piglets to Apostles. Early charts refer to the 12 Apostles as the Sow and Piglets. The Sow refers to Mutton Bird Island which is viewable from Loch Ard Gorge and the Piglets were the surrounding rock formations to the east. When Superintendent C.J. La Trobe passed through this area in 1846, his chart reflected this name.
The rocks are collectively known as the 12 Apostles and are not individually named after the biblical Apostles. The formation was renamed in the 1930's at a time when visitors were travelling along the Old Coach Road from Port Campbell to Princetown to view the formations. A collapse in 2005 reduced the number of stacks that are viewable from the main viewing platform from "8" to "7".
How many Apostles are there?
At first glance you will see seven rock stacks to the west of the main 12 Apostles viewing platform with the rest hidden by headlands and obscured by other stacks. To the east at the southern viewing area are a further 2 rock stacks referred to in local vernacular as Gog and Magog. These two rock stacks are viewable from beach level 1.1 km to the east of the Twelve Apostles. Visitors should note that while there is a small car park at Gibson Steps it is often at capacity and visitors are advised they can walk safely via the Great Ocean Walk on a 1.1 km (2.2km return) trail that leaves from the south side of the Twelve Apostles Visitor Facility.